REVIEW: Darkdawn

Darkdawn, by Jay Kristoff

Rating: 5/5

That was an ending worthy of Mia Corvere. The Nevernight Chronicles have been bloody, violent, and cruel. But they have also been full of love, of joy, of happiness. While those moments come in spades, of course, Darkdawn gives us more of these moments. It lets our Mia see happiness and joy, something she’s deserved all her life.

I didn’t know what I was expecting going into Darkdawn. In truth, I had my suspicions as to what was going to happen, but in reading it, I liked that ultimately, I wasn’t able to figure it out. At least, not the twists and turns Jay Kristoff takes us through as we make our way through the final pages of the series.

Overall, I loved this book. I thought it was a wonderful ending to a series that has been my favorite read of 2019 ever since I picked up Nevernight earlier this year.

Endings are hard, not just to write, but also for readers to experience. This ending might have been tough–I didn’t (and still don’t) want to leave the world of Mia Corvere–but Darkdawn made it all the easier, and Jay Kristoff did not disappoint.


Leave a comment